• India
  • November 27, 2020

Captain Amarinder lashes out at Sukhbir Badal for his U-turn on the farm laws

Captain Amarinder   lashes out at Sukhbir  Badal for his U-turn on the farm laws India News Front Chandigarh, October 23: Taking on the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) over yet another U-turn …

DGP Rajasthan paid tribute to Martyrs of Police Department

DGP Rajasthan paid tribute to Martyrs of Police Department India News Front Jaipur , Oct 21 : On Police Commemoration Day,  M L Lathar , Director General of Police , Rajasthan …


Haryan Agri University  developed new Sorghum variety CSV 44F mainly for  southern states

Jag Mohan Thaken

Chandigarh   ,  November  12:

Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar has developed a new improved variety of sorghum CSV 44F.

This newly  developed variety is recommended for the southern states mainly Karnataka, Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu. Vice Chancellor of the University, Professor Samar Singh congratulated the scientists for this achievement and called for continuous efforts in future as well. Director of Research, Dr. S.K. Sehrawat highlighted that the CSV 44F variety has 10 percent higher protein content, delicious and also high digestibility than other varieties, due to which it is helpful in increasing the milk production of the animal.

The variety has no lodging problems and most suitable in moderately to high rainfall areas. Naturally poisonous dhurin content is also very less in this variety and is moderate tolerant to stem borer and shoot fly. The average green fodder yield of this variety is 407 q/ha, which is 7.5 percent and 5.8 percent higher than other improved varieties of sorghum CSV 21F and CSV 30F, respectively.

This variety  has been  developed by the Forage section, the Department of Genetics and Plant Breeding of the university. This variety  notified and released by the ‘Crop Standards, Notification and Approval Central Sub-Committee’ of the Department of Agriculture and Co-operation, Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Government of India. According to Dr. A.K. Chabra, HOD, Genetics and Plant Breeding that this variety is developed by the team of scientists namely Dr. Pammi Kumari, Dr. Satyawan Arya, Dr. S.K. Pahuja, Dr. N.K. Thakral and Dr. D.S. Phogat, Dr. Satpal, Dr. Jayanthi Tokas, Dr. Harish Kumar, Dr. Vinod Malik and Dr. Sarita Devi.